19 Comments
Apr 20, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

I was taught "how" to think, not "what" to think. AI is not going to be able to replace the human interactions and senses (taste, smell, sight, hearing, etc. ) that are essential to developing unique and memorable recipes. Even if we are told that it has, I'm not buying it. Computers and data may be good for ideas, but there are limits in my opinion. I'm onboard for as long as you continue to develop and post your cooking. Thank you Irena.

Expand full comment
Apr 21, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

I don’t think it’s possible for AI to replace food writers… It has taken me years to whittle down the wide choices of food writers online to a few trusted sources. These have become the places i automatically go when I want something delicious and I trust the recipe to work! I don’t see how AI could replicate the work of a dedicated food blogger, someone who cooks the recipe multiple times, provides notes for different situations, ingredients and diets and does all of that with a good writers style. I can’t speak for everyone but I won’t be trusting anything without a digestive system to tell me what to eat and how to cook it!

Expand full comment
Apr 21, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

Not a fan of the AI or ChatgPT. Personal touch wins hands down. Algorithms etc, think they know your choices, but they really don't, so I would like to pick and choose my own rather than an AI tell me this suit my tastes. Please continue the wonderful blogs and newsletter with your human touches.

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

Here's a timely article about the accuracy of ChatGPT when asked to provide an answer regarding a nutritional plan. As the old adage goes, garbage in = garbage out. I believe that AI can indeed provide answers to what I am asking, but it can't provide an answer to what I was thinking about and meant to ask. If I ask for a baked bean recipe with turnip greens and red potatoes it might provide one, but it likely isn't what I was thinking about.

https://blog.myfitnesspal.com/can-chatgpt-give-solid-nutrition-advice/?%24web_only=true&utm_source=mfp&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=8am%20local%20time&%243p=e_braze_sp&_branch_match_id=995717671294209173&_branch_referrer=H4sIAAAAAAAAA1XM0WrDMAyF4adJb4oTiLtSCmUUyl7DKI7riEm2sOWO7unnQm8Guvp0%2BDdVqedp4ucdNYVaBWgEkZEwfU9WPof5YOUS3FLgN7gquw65YMQE5Fqhy%2FYqDPY6zF%2F9Fspx%2FBfzmbt7SMZvoFHURHwEUzPhalLTgoo5GVgf6MMrYnvnYz78hMXlRM%2FB3rS0%2Fjk2ZVdzK31mb3yXN3FYsXGnwID0Rg8sgDF1PgHvKXugvSKHP8SpyQ%2FxAAAA

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

Personal touch can’t be replicated... use of video to support blog content is key for me

Expand full comment
Apr 21, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

I have followed you for a long time, Irena and won't be changing anything. I love the personal connection that comes through your blog and newsletters. Your recipes have provided my family with some wonderful meals.

Expand full comment
Apr 21, 2023Liked by Irena Macri

Having to register, then log in to GPT is arduous. Also, I do like the visuals of the photos of what the food will look like. Photos are a big plus for me. I might go to GPT as a novelty while using it for other unrelated tasks but am happy to go old skool for recipes w cookbooks, blogs, online content.

Expand full comment

I'm not going anywhere; I love the blogs, interaction and wonderful recipes that clever cooks take the time to share. I rarely even look at my other cookbooks any more. Just please keep doing what you're doing so well.

Expand full comment

I agree with both comments below.

I am not going anyway else either to look for recipes and cooking inspiration. I prefer the the personal touch and thoroughly enjoy reading your blog and newsletters. Thank you Irena. 😁

Expand full comment

There will be some people who just want a recipe, any recipe, and AI will serve their purposes. So yeah, you might lose a few website impressions. AI might also steal your recipes (because that's how it works, and with art and other info too – it doesn't respect IP or copyright) and people might never realise it's your recipe. And these users won't care. ☹️

I think folks who follow bloggers aren't going to take that path, though. The people who subscribe to your newsletter, for example, are clearly interested in more. We're interested in YOU. We trust you and your recipes. We appreciate that you take the time to explain things, we trust that your recipes will work, we know your recipes will largely resonate with us and the way we like to eat, and we like that from time to time you'll share other bloggers' recipes that will also resonate.

Well, this is my thinking, anyway!

Expand full comment